84 yamaha rd 500 no spark .

General forum on troubleshooting electrical problems and modifications to electrical systems

Moderator: rztom

stevig2003

#1 Post by stevig2003 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:38 am

Hi guys I have been trawling the net over the last few weeks trying to find an answer to my spark issue.
I have been brought up with the rd range and my dad is one of the founding members of our local rd club in Newcastle UK. The bike is currently being restored and almost finished it was in good condition to start with and has been sat in dry conditions for about 20 years. Spark was not verified prior to strip down unfortunately however the owner has said it was put away running.
Baisicly we have no spark, I am an electrician and have spent hours tracing wires and checking connections.
All resistance readings on coils, generator, pickup, and everything is earthed well .
Both ignition and kill switch function correctly . We have had the cdi on another 500 and it is working. In desperation we have payed a motorcycle shop to check it over and they also could not find any problems. Their report was the rotor has lost its magnatism and not producing enough power. I have measured the voltage out of the high and low speed ignitor circuits and got 4.5v ac and 25v ac .
All plugs and caps are new and primary and socondary circuits check out .
Only real discrepancie I have found was my meter cannot detect any voltage from the pickup circuit even though we have replaced the pickup. It's only ment to put out 0.3v ac I don't think my meter is accurate enough. The resistance is around 115 ohms so in spec with the manual.
I have had quite a lot of experience with other 2 strokes on the rd range almost all of them to be honest and have always found the problem any help would be much apreciated.