fit zeel to 500

Need a special, hard-to-find part? Ask for it here!

Moderator: rztom

Post Reply
Message
Author
shergar
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: ireland

fit zeel to 500

#1 Post by shergar » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:32 pm

im just about to wire up my zeel to my rd500 and i was just wondering when would anyone who has done it be able to talk me through it ie ok i bought the plug and go set of plugs on ebay so the round plug goes to the stator , the square plug goes to the coils ye , there are the three white wires that go to the reg/rec do i just snip of the white wires from the loom round plug and just splice them into the reg/rec wires or should i have bought a third plug ?? . which is the front coil (the top one at the front of the chassis ? ) and which is the rear (the one down low at the sator ?) , cheers ps
my bikes.
YL1 , AS3 (2) , YAS1 (2) , LC 350 ,
RD 400 , 400 DAYTONA , KH 250 s1 ,
CBX 1000 , RD 500 .

Ron57
- - - - -
- - - - -
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: fit zeel to 500

#2 Post by Ron57 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:18 am

Hi shergar, Zeeitronic should replace the CDI and Power valve controller
Plugs into the wiring harness.
http://www.zeeltronic.com/manuals/RD500 ... 4V_con.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Cheers Ron.

shergar
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: ireland

Re: fit zeel to 500

#3 Post by shergar » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:45 am

So I don’t touch the stator , reg/rec wires or plugs at all I leave all that alone yes ???? So say on a standard 500 bike on the left hand side the 2 boxes just remove them and wire the zeel into the round and square that are left on the loom yes ?? Ta
my bikes.
YL1 , AS3 (2) , YAS1 (2) , LC 350 ,
RD 400 , 400 DAYTONA , KH 250 s1 ,
CBX 1000 , RD 500 .

User avatar
phildu31
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Toulouse France

Re: fit zeel to 500

#4 Post by phildu31 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:45 am

Difficult to read and hard to know what kind of problem you encounter.
As far as I can understand, you don't have the original boxes but the loom is genuine and you bought the two box-side plugs.
So you just have to wire the two plugs on your zeeltronic accordingly to the wiring diagram ( left side of zeel wiring diagram ).
Don't bother with the other optional wires of the zeeltronic.

shergar
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: ireland

Re: fit zeel to 500

#5 Post by shergar » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:00 pm

understood BUT i received 2 wire up plans 1 for RD500 and another for RD/RZ500 so as my bike is a RD500 i was working on that basis , ps
my bikes.
YL1 , AS3 (2) , YAS1 (2) , LC 350 ,
RD 400 , 400 DAYTONA , KH 250 s1 ,
CBX 1000 , RD 500 .

shergar
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: ireland

Re: fit zeel to 500

#6 Post by shergar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:24 pm

any more thoughts on this men ????
my bikes.
YL1 , AS3 (2) , YAS1 (2) , LC 350 ,
RD 400 , 400 DAYTONA , KH 250 s1 ,
CBX 1000 , RD 500 .

User avatar
phildu31
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Toulouse France

Re: fit zeel to 500

#7 Post by phildu31 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:10 pm

Wiring of the CDI and YPVS boxes are the same on RD/RZ/RZV.
So, as said before, just wire a new 8-pin round connector and a new 9-pin square connector to the Zeel-PCDI-24V and only plug these two new connectors to your original loom.

shergar
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: ireland

Re: fit zeel to 500

#8 Post by shergar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:33 pm

will do phil thanks for your help mate ,ps
my bikes.
YL1 , AS3 (2) , YAS1 (2) , LC 350 ,
RD 400 , 400 DAYTONA , KH 250 s1 ,
CBX 1000 , RD 500 .

Ron57
- - - - -
- - - - -
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: fit zeel to 500

#9 Post by Ron57 » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:41 pm

Hi shergar, Zeeltronic make 2 types a PCDI and a PDCI, just have to follow the rite
wiring diagram.
Cheers Ron.

Post Reply